The Park

About the Park

Cape Saint Mary Lighthouse Park

Welcome to the official website of the Cape Saint Mary Lighthouse Park, the newest park in the Municipality of Clare. Cape Saint Mary is the western most spot on the Nova Scotia mainland, providing visitors with expansive views of dramatic cliffs and breathtaking sunsets over Saint Mary’s Bay and the Gulf of Maine. Located in the active fishing and boatbuilding village of Cape Saint Mary (Cap Sainte-Marie), the lighthouse is a three minute drive from beautiful Mavillette Beach Provincial Park.

On January 10, 2017, the Municipality of the District of Clare legally took possession of the Cape Saint Mary Lighthouse and property, following a divestiture process with the federal government .

Work began in July 2017 with the repainting of the tower, replacement of the roof, and replacement of the vinyl siding with cedar shingles. Along the cliff side of the property, the chain-link fence has been replaced with nautical-style post and rope. To handle the increase in visitation, a gravel parking lot has been created to accommodate over 30 vehicles. A granite boulder fence encloses the park and parking lot.

A viewing scope has been installed for visitors to enjoy observing fishing boats, sea birds and other surprises, free of charge. Other visitor amenities include a new welcome sign, a picnic shelter accessible for wheelchairs, concrete benches and interpretive panels explaining the founding of the village, history of the lighthouse, the local marine ecology, and even the fog.

The centrepiece of the park is a granite monument commemorating those lost to the sea in the Municipality of Clare. Local sculptor Marc Graff had been commissioned to carve the granite mariner that sits proudly atop the monument. This site offers visitors a quiet yet powerful area of reflection overlooking the panoramic vistas of the Cape.

Portable toilets will be added in fall 2018.

The official opening of the park and unveiling of the monument took place on Thursday, July 5, 2018.

In addition to this website, the marketing plan for the park includes a webcam, a Facebook page, drone photography and hosting events. A new community sign has been installed on Highway 101 just before Exit 32, displaying a graphic design of Mavillette Beach and Cape Saint Mary Lighthouse.

Project funding was provided by the Municipality of Clare and the Government of Canada. The federal government will continue to maintain the lighthouse’s navigational equipment.

Please visit our Photo Gallery!

History

French Acadian families began settling at Cape Saint Mary in 1804. The ocean off the Cape teemed with herring, cod, and mackerel as well as many other fish species. The fishers of Cape Saint Mary went out to sea in small open boats known locally as ‘barchettes’ (little barques) powered by oars or sails, and they processed their catches onshore by salting, pickling or drying. Fish exports and boatbuilding were the main sources of revenue in the village, but villagers also farmed and gathered food from the land. Beginning in 1888, a steamboat connected this isolated village with other ports along the bay, carrying passengers, mail and cargo.

Beginning in the late 1800s, the fishers outfitted their small boats with one-cylinder gas engines commonly known as ‘pok-poks’. By the early 1900s, many fishers turned to fishing for lobster with traps and buoys. At a cannery in the village, lobsters were cooked, cleaned and packaged in tins for export. Fishers gradually upgraded their vessels to the larger ‘Cape Island’ style boats with open decks on the stern for handling traps and gear.

For the protection of mariners, two lighthouses have been built on the headland at Cape Saint Mary. The original lighthouse, dating from 1868, was a wooden octagonal tower 13.1 meters high (approximately 43 feet) bearing a revolving light flashing white and red every 30 seconds. A lighthouse keeper was employed full time to keep the mechanisms working. A two-tone foghorn station was added in 1914. At that time the site included a house, barn and outbuildings supplied for the use of the lighthouse keeper and his family. The second lighthouse, built in 1965, is a 3-meter square tower (approximately 10 feet) constructed atop a one-story concrete block building. It rises to a height of 8.8 meters (29 feet) and is equipped with a 500-watt light flashing every five seconds and operates only at night. It was automated in 1989.

Cape Saint Mary early 1900s
Early 1900s Cape Saint Mary
Photograph by W.R.MacAskill, courtesy of Nova Scotia Archives and Record Management.

 
Cape Saint Mary lighthouse circa 1868
Cape Saint Mary Lighthouse and grounds circa 1868
Photograph courtesy of Nova Scotia Archives and Record Management.

 
Cape Saint Mary lighthouse 1988
Cape Saint Mary lighthouse 1988
Photograph courtesy of Harold Robicheau

 
Cape Saint Mary wharf
Cape Saint Mary wharf
Photograph courtesy Nova Scotia Archives and Record Management

 
Vintage postcard of Cape Saint Mary, circa 1950s
Vintage postcard of Cape Saint Mary, circa 1950s

 
banner image (top):
Cape Saint Mary circa 1897
Photograph courtesy Gerald Comeau and Harold Robicheau

Lost to the Sea Monument

Sculpture “Coming Home” by Marc Graff

The centrepiece of the park is a monument commemorating those lost to the sea in the Municipality of Clare. Local sculptor Marc Graff was commissioned to carve the fisherman’s bust that sits proudly atop the monument. This site offers a quiet yet powerful area of reflection overlooking the panoramic vistas of the Cape.

Official Unveiling of the Monument, July 2018



Video production: Maslow2424 with photographs and videos by Ted Hurst and Germaine Comeau, music by Van Morrison and Daniel Lanois.

Mavillette Beach

Mavillette Beach Provincial Park, located two kilometres from the Cape Saint Mary Lighthouse Park, is a 1.5 km long sandy beach backed by fragile marram grass-covered dunes protected by boardwalks. Low tide exposes sand flats; then the hot sand warms the water.

Supervised swimming on Saturdays and Sundays in the months of July and August, the park facilities include change houses, vault toilets, freshwater taps, interpretive panels, and three parking areas and boardwalks to access the beach.

Le Parc

À propos du parc

Le Parc du phare au Cap Sainte-Marie

Bienvenue au site Web officiel du Parc du phare au Cap Sainte-Marie, le tout nouveau parc dans la municipalité de Clare. Le Cap Sainte-Marie est à l’extrême ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse continentale, et offre aux visiteurs des vues majestueuses des falaises impressionnantes et des couchers de soleil spectaculaires sur la baie Sainte-Marie et le golfe du Maine. Situé dans le village de pêche et de construction de bateaux du Cap Sainte-Marie, le phare est à trois minutes de route du joli parc provincial de la plage Mavillette.

Le 10 janvier 2017, la municipalité de Clare a pris légalement possession du phare et du terrain au Cap Sainte-Marie, à la suite d’un processus de cession avec le gouvernement fédéral.

Les travaux, qui comprennent l’application d’une nouvelle peinture sur la tour, le remplacement du toit et le remplacement du revêtement en vinyle par des bardeaux de cèdre, ont débuté en juillet 2017. Sur la partie du terrain qui longe la falaise, la clôture a été remplacée par des poteaux et cordes de style nautique. Pour faire face à l’augmentation du nombre de visiteurs, un terrain de stationnement en gravier pouvant accueillir plus de 30 véhicules a été aménagé. Une clôture en blocs de granite enferme le parc et le terrain de stationnement.

Des jumelles d’observation ont été installés pour permettre aux visiteurs d’observer des bateaux de pêche, des oiseaux marins et d’autres surprises. Plusieurs autres installations pour les visiteurs sont mises en place, y compris un nouveau panneau d’accueil, un abri de pique-nique accessible aux fauteuils roulants, des bancs, ainsi que des panneaux d’interprétation décrivant la fondation du village, l’histoire du phare, l’écologie marine locale et même la brume.

L’élément central du parc est un monument en granit commémorant les gens perdus en mer dans la municipalité de Clare. Le sculpteur local Marc Graff a sculpté le marin en granit fièrement placé sur le monument. Le site offrira un lieu de réflexion tranquille, mais puissant, donnant sur les vues panoramiques du cap.

L’ouverture officielle du parc et le dévoilement du monument ont été lieu le jeudi 5 juillet 2018.

En plus de ce site Web, le plan de marketing pour le parc comprend une caméra Web, une page Facebook et des photos. Un nouveau panneau sera installé sur l’autoroute 101, juste avant la sortie 32, montrant un design graphique de la plage de Mavillette et du phare du Cap Sainte-Marie.

Le financement du projet a été assuré par la municipalité de Clare et le gouvernement du Canada. Le gouvernement fédéral continuera d’entretenir l‘équipement de navigation du phare.

Historique

Des familles acadiennes ont commencé à s’établir au cap Sainte-Marie en 1804. La mer au large du cap abondait en hareng, en morue et en maquereau, ainsi qu’en plusieurs autres espèces de poisson. Les pêcheurs de Cap Sainte-Marie prenaient la mer dans de petits bateaux ouverts propulsés à l’aide d’avirons ou de voiles, connus localement sous le nom de « barchettes » ou « petites barques ». Ils transformaient leurs prises sur la terre ferme en salant, saumurant ou séchant le poisson. Les exportations de poisson et la construction de bateaux furent les sources principales de revenus dans le village, mais les villageois cultivaient également la terre et pratiquaient l’élevage et la cueillette. Dès 1888, un paquebot à vapeur reliait ce village isolé à d’autres ports le long de la baie, transportant des passagers, du courrier et des marchandises.

Dès la fin du XIXe siècle, les pêcheurs équipaient leurs petits bateaux de moteurs à essence à un cylindre. Ceux-ci étaient connus plus communément sous le nom de « pok-poks ». Dès le début du XXe siècle, plusieurs pêcheurs se sont mis à pêcher le homard à l’aide de casiers à homard et de bouées. Dans la conserverie du village, les homards furent cuits, nettoyés et mis en conserve à des fins d’exportation. Les pêcheurs se sont progressivement équipés de vaisseaux plus grands de style « Cape Island » dotés de ponts ouverts sur la poupe pour la manutention de casiers et d’engins de pêche.

Pour assurer la protection des marins, deux phares furent construits sur le promontoire au cap Sainte-Marie. Le phare original, remontant à 1868, fut une tour octogonale en bois d’une hauteur de 13,1 m (environ 43 pieds), équipée d’une lampe tournante qui produisait un éclair lumineux blanc et rouge toutes les 30 secondes. Un gardien de phare travaillait à plein temps pour assurer le bon fonctionnement des mécanismes. En 1914, une station de corne de brume à deux tons fut ajoutée. À l’époque, l’emplacement comprenait une maison, une grange et des dépendances pour l’usage du gardien de phare et de sa famille. Le deuxième phare, construit en 1965, est une tour carrée dont les côtés mesurent trois mètres (environ 10 pieds). Il fut érigé sur un bâtiment en blocs de béton à un étage. Il s’élève à une hauteur de 8,8 m (29 pieds) et est équipé d’une lampe de 500 watts qui produit un éclair lumineux toutes les cinq secondes. Il fonctionne seulement la nuit. Il fut automatisé en 1989.

Cap Sainte-Marie au début du XXe siècle
Cap Sainte-Marie au début du XXe siècle
Photographie prise par W.R. MacAskill et reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation de Nova Scotia Archives and Record Management.

 
Le phare et les terrains du phare de Cap Sainte-Marie vers 1868
Le phare et les terrains du phare de Cap Sainte-Marie vers 1868
Photographie reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation de Nova Scotia Archives and Record Management

 
Le phare de Cap Sainte-Marie (deuxième bâtiment), 1988
Le phare de Cap Sainte-Marie (deuxième bâtiment), 1988
Photographie reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation de Harold Robicheau

 
Le quai au Cap Sainte-Marie
Le quai au Cap Sainte-Marie
Photographie reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation de Nova Scotia Archives and Record Management

 
Carte postale d’époque de Cap Sainte-Marie, vers les années 1950
Carte postale d’époque de Cap Sainte-Marie, vers les années 1950

 
l’image bannière (en haut de la page):
Cap Sainte-Marie vers 1897
Photographie reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation de Gerald Comeau et Harold Robicheau

Monument pour les noyés

Sculpture « Coming Home » par Marc Graff

L’élément central du parc est un monument commémorant les gens perdus en mer dans la municipalité de Clare. Le sculpteur local Marc Graff a sculpté le buste d’un pêcheur, qui est fièrement placé sur le monument. Le site est un lieu de réflexion tranquille, mais puissant, donnant sur les vues panoramiques du cap.

Inauguration officielle du monument, juillet 2018



Production de vidéo : Maslow2424 avec des photographes et vidéos par Ted Hurst et Germaine Comeau, musique par Van Morrison et Daniel Lanois.

Plage de Mavillette

La parc provincial de la plage Mavillette, situé à deux kilomètres du Parc du phare au Cap Sainte-Marie, est une plage sablonneuse de 1,5 km  bordée par des dunes fragiles couvertes d’ammophila et protégées par des promenades de bois. La marée basse expose les platins de sable, puis le sable chaud réchauffe l’eau.

Des sauveteurs sont sur place les samedis et dimanches pendant les mois de juillet et d’août. Les installations du parc comprennent des vestiaires, des toilettes extérieures, de l’eau courante, des panneaux d’interprétation, trois terrains de stationnement et des promenades de bois pour accéder à la plage.